November 2011

Farewell to Bob Howard

Bob arrived at Lynfield from Papatoetoe High School 33 years ago and stayed. That was in 1978 and Bob came to take up the position of Head of Biology.


Bob was heavily involved in his subject. He had already co-authored a published booklet for Year 11 Science and was the editor of the Auckland Science Teachers’ Association, as well as being on the executive. Bob marked external exam papers for School Certificate, University Entrance and Bursary for several years, and was also involved in rewriting the UE Biology Practical Guide. Bob also started horticulture courses for Year 11 and 12 students in the 1980s, and the buildings for this were to be found on the space between the New Gym and K3.












As time passed at Lynfield, Bob developed a growing interest in the learning needs of special education students. He started a Science course for students with special needs and then had a one-year study award to train in special education. Bob then gave up his Head of Department role to become an assistant teacher in Special Education. He went back to University to work on a Masters Degree in Special Education and finished this over three years while still teaching full time. Bob eventually became the Head of the Special Education Department, but still managed to teach some mainstream Science.


Eventually Special Ed downsized in 2005 and moved from J Block into Learning Support in B4 and B5. Bob gradually moved out of Learning Support and back into teaching Science and senior Biology.


As well as putting a lot of time into the learning needs of secondary school students, Bob was heavily involved in the community through his roles with the Manurewa Volunteer Fire Brigade, and as a volunteer ambulance officer for the Auckland Ambulance Service. Bob has also had a lengthy spell coaching cricket at Lynfield and the Manurewa Cricket Club, and was a handy player himself. Bob is an accomplished musician on acoustic blues guitar, but rates himself as not so accomplished on the piano.


Over 33 years Bob has seen a lot of changes. These include three principals, moving from blackboard and chalk to whiteboard and whiteboard pens, from slide rule or logarithm book to calculator, and then to computer and laptop and data projector and the overwhelming amount of information that is available on the internet for teaching.


We wish Bob a happy, lengthy and healthy retirement.

2011 Senior Academic Prizegiving


Congratulations to the following students whose high achievement has been honoured at the priegivings recently.

Vaspan 1 1 Callum Freeman 1 Penelope Walbran Oakley 1
Dux Litterarum and Academic Captain -
Vaspan Raimalwala
Proxime Accessit -
Callum Freeman
Academic Captain and D H Thurston Award for Service -
Penelope Walbran-Oakley
chad Wright 1 Tyla Nathan Wong 1 Charlie Isdale 2
Dux Ludorum -
Chad Wright
Dux Ludorum -
Tyla Nathan-Wong
Dux Artium -
Charlie Isdale


University of Auckland Scholarship – Malika Hariharan, Devyani Vadke

University of Auckland Alumni Scholarship – Delani Nawarajan

University of Auckland Jubilee Award – Behre Gebreegziabher, Juhi Goswami, Jigna Lekinwala

AUT Vice Chancellor’s Scholarships – Esther Zhuang

Unitec Partner School Study Awards – Dishika Priya Hira, Kirsty Pomeroy

Massey University High Achiever Scholarship – Samantha Young

The Trusts Charitable Foundation Scholarships –

Liam Dawson, Izak Rose, Nathan Leckey, Shawn Cleaver, Hannah Calvert, Jenny Pan,

Penelope Walbran-Oakley, Melanie Slessor, Rachel Nabalarua, Jasmine Vickery, Donita

Ekeroma, Charlie Isdale


Year 12 Dux – Ignatius Maher Memorial Prize – Nalin Choudhary

Senior Merit Cup Girls – Shuwen He

Senior Merit Cup Boys – Nalin Choudhary

Academic Honours - Shuwen He, Marisha Aya, Sarah Plank, Stephanie Love

Honours Awards – Yash Vyas, Jonathan Feki, Nishita D’Silva, Sarah Plank, Marisha Aya, Anna Carroll,

Tyla Nathan-Wong, Demi Cox, Ashley Walters, Melody Farishta

 Our Year 11 Prizegiving was well attended by family and friends wishing to support and acknowledge student success. Congratulations to the following major award winners:

Year 11 Dux – Griffen Memorial Prize – Timothy Hight
Year 11 Merit Boys (equal) – Nicholas Kam, Johnson Zhuang
Year 11 Merit Girls – Sharmaine Tomacruz
Academic Honours – Andrew Coffin, Lydia Ern-Ling Choo, Akash Charles
Honours Awards – Andrew Coffin, Anthony Chen, Jack Barker, Daniel Cho, Linden Rose, Merlyn Lobo,
Liam van Rijn, Kevin Yu, Brayden Silby
Year 11 Sportsperson Boys (equal) – Jordan Maher, James Schuster
Year 11 Sportsperson Girls – Zhane Peteru
Significant Contribution to Year 11 Cultural Activities – Darion Sorby

Chinese Language Students' Cultural Experience

As a part of their language studies, students are expected to participate in various Chinese cultural activities and outings. This year, on Thursday, 24 November, Year 9 and Year 10 students of Chinese visited the Ciming Chinese Temple and the Enjoy Inn Chinese Restaurant.

During the trip students gained more understanding of Chinese culture, sampled Chinese cuisine and put their Chinese language skills into practice in a natural Chinese environment.

More Awards for Tyla

Tyla Nathan-Wong has had overwhelming success this year in her chosen sports. A few weeks ago she was awarded the Dux Ludorum honour at the college's Festival Awards; this last week she has been on stage receiving major awards at the Sport Waitakere Koru Awards and at the ASB Young Sportsman and Sportswoman Awards dinner.


The New Zealand Touch representative received the Maori achievement in sport award and the Junior Sportswoman award at the Koru Awards.


At the ASB awards over 500 attended the special dinner at Eden Park where 160 students were recognised for excellence in 30 sporting codes. Tyla won the Touch Award and was one of the finalists in the Young Sportswoman of the Year - won by golfer Lydia Ko from Pinehurst School.



2012 Student Leaders Announced

Students and staff have elected the senior students who will lead the student community next year.The calibre of the young people who applied for these very demanding roles is very impressive and we are confident that those elected to these prestigious positions will carry out their responsibilities with maturity, integrity and pride.

Congratulations to the following students and also to the other students who have been elected to the Student Executive in supporting roles.
Head Students Jonathan Feki Maddie Hughes
Deputy Head Students Billy Scarfe Nishita D'Silva
Arts & Culture Captains Michael Howell Shantrelle Prendigrast
Academic Captains Nalin Choudhary Wendy He
Sports Captains Acelin James Tyla Nathan-Wong
Board of Trustees Rep James Olsen  
International Student Rep Harmandeep Sodhi  
Bray House Captains Joshua Worthington Shivani Pragji
Fatialofa House Captains Russell Geddes Ricky Smith
Faumuina House Captains Charlotte Nield Wiki Maihi
Lewis House Captains Bryan Chong Tiffany McGregor
Reid House Captains Hayley Browne Pita Tagicakiverata
Zoricich House Captains Damian Hunter Naomi Faautaga

News & Events