October 2011

2012 Student Representative Elected to Board of Trustees


The Board of Trustees 2012 Student Representative Election was held at the end of last term and the results have been declared by Neil Waddington, Returning Officer.


Names (Alphabetical order)     Number of Votes

Marisha AYA                                 144
Anna CARROLL                              148
Nalin CHOUDHARY                        147
Nishita D’SILVA                             142
Neha FAROOK                               124
Jaheer FIROWZE                             123
James OLSEN                                 314
Varuna PRASAD                               57
Yash VYAS                                     179

 Invalid votes:                                    13

I hereby declare James Olsen duly elected.

Neil Waddington
Returning Officer.


Sporting Moments


31 October 2011

During the recent holidays students had the opportunity to compete in a number of sporting events and we have received information on some special achievements.


Danielle Bradley was named Goalkeeper of the Tournament at the New Zealand Football National Womens Futsal Tournament played in Wellington. The Auckland Team came second in the Open  Division, losing the final 2-1 to a team they had beaten in pool play.


Natalie Woodgate excels in distance swimming. In the first weekend of the holidays she won the 1500m and placed third in the 800m in her age group at the Auckland Distance Championships. Natalie then went to Brisbane for the Queensland Open Water Championships. She gained a bronze in her age group 10km swim and a 5th in the 5km event.


Congratulations to Danielle and Natalie!



World Teachers' Day October 28

27 October 2011

Once a year there is a day dedicated to acknowledging the tremendous job that teachers do in equipping our young people for successful futures.



Nominate Inspiring Teachers

27 October 2011

Warehouse Stationery (together with other sponsors) has come forward with a way of rewarding teachers who have made a significant impact on their students' learning experiences. $30,000 worth of classroom prize packs, plus a $5000 holiday escape package are to be awarded to the most worthy of those teachers who are nominated.


 Warehouse Stationery spokeperson, Anna Campbell, says


"It is our hope that these awards will go some way to thanking our dedicated teachers for making school a great place to be.

Nominated teachers should be committed to the learning process, going beyond in terms of time and resources."



Morning Tea with Music and Laughter

6 October 2011
International Day of the Older People was celebrated in Mt Albert this year with Lynfield College students performing in five musical groups to 140 local rest home residents.

The event was organised by Age Concern Auckland's Health promotion coordinator Maureen Craven who worked closely with the College's Bronwen Wilson and Lisa Norman. The guests were treated to a selection of musical items including Jazz, Classical, Pop and Vocal. Morning Tea was served after the music.


"Today has been a wonderful example of intergenerational celebration, young and old coming together to share food, laughter and stunning music," said Maureen Craven at the conclusion of the event.



Farewells at Fiafia Evening

5 October 2011

On Tuesday 4 October, a fiafia night was held to celebrate the secondary school years of the Year 13 Pasifika students and wish them well for their NCEA exams and their subsequent tertiary studies.


The Lynfield College Kapa Haka group got the evening off to a good start and MC, Russell Su’a, ran the evening with the help of his assistant, Elliot Brunt. Each of the school’s three Pasifika culture groups, Tongan, Samoan and Fijian, put on a great performance and when finished, the Year 13 students from each group were invited to speak about their chosen career. A wide range of interesting careers had been chosen and staff, parents and friends of the College wished them well for their futures.


The Lynfield Funk Band, with several Pasifika students as members,  put on a polished performance, despite only being together for a short time.  The entertainment side of the evening was rounded off with the return of Humble Souls, who had excelled themselves as musicians while students at Lynfield. They are a highly professional group who were received with great applause.


Mr Su’a was thanked by Board member Mrs Johansson for the huge impact that he has had in the school in promoting the interests and well-being of Pasifika students. A fine supper made a fitting end to a very enjoyable evening.

2011 Festival Awards for Arts, Culture and Sport

3 October 2011

The annual celebration of excellence in the extra-curricular life of Lynfield College was held at the Crowne Plaza last Thursday evening. With performances by cultural and musical groups, and a large number of students receiving Colours and Service awards it was a memorable occasion.


The Proctor Cup for Outstanding Individual Performance in Sport was presented to Katie Bowen for her selection to the Football Ferns, while the Team of the Year Award went to the Under-19 Boys Basketball Team who were runners-up in the 2011 Greater Auckland Basketball Championship. .


The Cultural Group Achievement Award for the year was awarded to the Lynfield College Big Band, winner of a Gold Award at the KBB Music Festival.


The most prestigious awards of the evening were those presented to the most outstanding students in the fields of Arts and Sports. The recipients for 2011are:


Dux Artium - Charlie Isdale

Dux Ludorum (Girls) - Tyla Nathan-Wong

Dux Ludorum (Boys) - Chad Wright

The College gives Scholarships annually to assist top students in further pursuing their involvement in culture and sport. The recipients of these for 2011 are Rachel Nabalarua and Charlie Isdale.


ASB Rewards Leadership in Service


3 October 2011

Congratulations to the following Year 13 students who have been named ASB Bank Scholars. These prestigious awards for Leadership in Service provide some financial assistance towards tertiary study and were presented at a regional luncheon on Tuesday 27 September at the Logan Campbell Centre.
Rachel Nabalarua

Ethan Miller
Malika Hariharan
Penelope Walbran-Oakley

Amie Mellor


News & Events