December 2018

Josie Wells: Gold for New Zealand

Josie Wells (Year 9) continues to have multiple successes in her chosen sport of artistic swimming. She has only just moved up into the 13 - 15 age group category so is very pleased with these results. At the NZ Nationals and NZSS Champs, held at Westwave in October, she won:

Silver: NZ Secondary School Solo
Bronze: National Duet 13 – 15 years
Bronze: Open Combo Team

Josie’s other results were:
5th out of 52 competitors: 13 - 15 years Figures
4th out of 14 competitors: 13 - 15 years Solo

On 9 December in Kuala Lumpur Josie’s team won gold
for New Zealand in the Asia Pacific Artistic Swimming Championships for the Open Combo Team event.

josie team

Year 9 and Year 10 Academic Prizegivings

Congratulations to the following students for their excellent achievements in 2018. They have done outstandingly well and should feel very proud of themselves. Thank you also to the parents/caregivers who were able to attend this special event.
Year 10 Dux
Jasmine Pickston

Year 10 Academic Honours Awards
Sanat Sabharwal Singh, Isha Ramanlal, Ashley Mar, Andrew Davy, Yana Sanvictores

Year 10 Girls Merit Cup Winner
Amanda D’Souza (Top Girls Merit Award Student)

Year 10 Boys Merit Cup Winner
Andrew Davy (Top Boys Merit Award Student)

Year 10 Merit Awards Jasmine Pickston, Rayna Gordhan, Isha Ramanlal, Eliana Competente, James Liston, Michael Jury, Sanat Sabharwal Singh, Shreeya Prasad

Manaakitanga Trophy (inaugural presentation)
Taniora Maihi and Luviah Saito Sililoto

Year 10 Short Story Competition Winner
Zoe Demmler (Kelvin Glassey Cup)

Year 10 Speech Competition Winner
Year 10 Speech Competition Runner-up
Isha Ramanlal (Stewart Dawson Cup)
Luviah Saito Sililoto

Top Junior ESOL Student
Abebe Gebreyesus

Lumino The Dentists Health Prize
(inaugural presentation)
Amanda D’Souza

Year 9 Dux (Griffin Memorial Scholarship)
Sarka Ludvigova

Year 9 Academic Honours Awards Sophie Yang, Kartik Malik, Stanley Long, Catherine Zhang

Year 9 Girls Merit Cup Winner
(Top Girls Merit Award Student)
Kaia Samuel

Year 9 Boys Merit Cup Winner
(Top Boys Merit Award Student)
Kartik Malik

Year 9 Merit Awards
Shaan Manilal, Catherine Zhang, Teesha Sharma, Amelia Perry, Charlotte Maggs, Divyanshi Chauhan, Oliver Pracy, Summer van Gelder, Eesha Mahimkar, Vishwa Jayswal

Year 9 Creative Writing Competition Winner
Thaveesha Jayasundara (Munden Cup)

Year 9 Speech Competition Winner
Year 9 Speech Competition Runner Up
Oliver Pracy (Year 9 Speech Award Cup)
Alina Petricheva


Recent Student Successes

Congratulations to the following students:

Puketāpapa Youth Awards: 
Anirudh Gomber (Entrepreneurship Award), Rylee Bracken (Rainbow Award, Individual), Michael Howell (Role Model Award, Winner), Harry Ashley (Creative Leader Award).

NZ Chinese Calligraphy Competition prizewinners: 
Nene Nakashima (Hard Pen, second prize and Soft Pen, third prize), Jinny Cho ((Hard Pen, third prize), Tracy Nguyen (Hard Pen, third prize), Emma Lee (Hard Pen, merit prize).

Rylee Bracken (at right), was the recipient of the Outstanding Positive Attitude award through her involvement with the Peer Sexuality Support Programme (PSSP).

rylee bracken
This Excellence award recognises her super positive force out of the 120 new members Auckland wide. Not only has she put in an incredible amount of effort at Lynfield, she has contributed and been involved with all PSSP related activities throughout the year. Rylee has a good relationship with many of her peers across the 24 Auckland schools and is a very worthy winner.

Congratulations to Rylee on her achievement.


News & Events